MARKUS STAUSS ARTGENOSSEN / COMPANIONS

Members

Richard Koch trumpet
John King el. guitar
Damien Campion el. bass, upright bass
Rémy Sträuli drums
Markus Stauss tenor & soprano sax, flute

About the Projects

Unexpectedly the trio VOGEL (bird) STAUSS & his ARTGENOSSEN (companions) appears as the quintet MARKUS STAUSS ARTGENOSSEN / COMPANIONS. New are Damien Campion from TRANK ZAPPA GRAPPA IN VARESE? (TZGIV 2006-2012) and John King, with whom I often played from 1988-1993. Through him I met Jean Chaine, with whom I recorded 3 ULTERIOR LUX CDs/LP and an ÜBERFALL LP. Speaking of ÜBERFALL: Thanks to the LP „Neuschnee“, the contact with John came about. So from ÜBERFALL to ULTERIOR LUX to TZGIV to BIRD STAUSS to STAUSS ARTGENOSSEN / COMPANIONS. And the music we play?

It’s a fine mixture of powerful jazz patterns, experimental excursions, and some firm guitar lines … an excellent album. It will take you on a fine journey.“ „I feel that this album should really please fans Van Der Graaf Generator … early King Crimson flavours (with Mel Collins in the band) also pop up at times. As usual the music is excellently performed and recorded … Great stuff!! Treasures of Light comes highly recommended indeed.“ … I read in the first reviews for the double CD „Treasures of Light“.

Update by MS November 2017

MP3

ZAUSS

Zauss im Nadelbergstudio nach der Mastering Session von "Diafoia Leitmotiv Waves", Juli 2014

Members

Francesco Zago el. guitar, loops
Markus Stauss soprano, tenor, bass sax, devices

About the Projects

FREE IMPROVISED MUSIC

Tradate (VA, Italy), Juli 28, 2006: Francesco Zago and Markus Stauss improvised free with el. guitar, loops and soprano sax. They played two tunes from theirs NEOLITHICUM DUO set as well, this time with the soprano saxophone instead of the bass saxophone. The whole session got recorded with a stereo microphone and a 2 track 24 bit flash recorder. Francesco & Markus decided to release a CD with all the improvisations plus 2 of the compositions under the new name ZAUSS. Benno Hofer of Ton-Art Basel made the mastering work. The release of the CD „neulich neben der Grenze“ was on November 14, 2006. Since this CD Stauss playes aside the soprano sax other saxes as well plus devices.

During 2010 Zauss decided to enter a real studio to record for another CD. The November session in 2010 at Ton-Art Basel got released June 1, 2011 as “überall in terra straniera borders beyond”.

Basel, June 2, 2012: Zauss recorded for the 3rd CD at Stauss’ home. November 1, 2012 was the release of “notturno leise im Wind”.

Juli 28, 2013: a sponteaneous session took place in Tradate (VA), Italy, that got recorded in a sponteaneous manner as well. The recordings, with a little fresh-up by Benno Hofer, got released on CD as „Diafonia Leitmotiv Waves“ with insightfull liner notes by Claudio Bonomi, on September 15, 2014.


ZAUSS TRIO

Members (from left to right):
Giuseppe Olivini percussion, theremin
Francesco Zago el. guitar, loops
Markus Stauss soprano, tenor, bass sax & flute

Benno Hofer invites Zauss Trio, feat. Giuseppe Olivini on percussion and teremin to record in Alvaneu (GR/CH) on am Februar 8 & 9, 2016. Many improvisations got recorded, from which 16 pieces got selected, mixed at Studio Nadelberg and released as double CD „trittico immer all over“ in March 2017.

Update by MS November 2017

MP3

Senza eleganza, end part (CD “neulich neben derGrenze” 2006), Francesco Zago (e g, loops), MS (ss)

Sulz, cutting (CD “neulich neben derGrenze” 2006), Francesco Zago (e g, loops), MS (ss)

Little quakes (CD “überall in terra straniera borders beyond” 2011), Francesco Zago (e g, loops), MS (bass sax)

Wendepunkt (CD “überall in terra straniera borders beyond” 2011), Francesco Zago (e g, loops), MS (ts)

Make a Zauss Noise here (CD “notturno leise im Wind” 2012), Francesco Zago (e g), MS (ts)

Tribal Music (CD “notturno leise im Wind” 2012), Francesco Zago (e g, loops), MS (bass sax)

Adagio molto, cutting (CD “Diafonia Leitmotiv Waves” 2014), Francesco Zago (e g, loops), MS (ts)

Crescendo con fuoco, end part (CD “Diafonia Leitmotiv Waves” 2014), Francesco Zago (e g, loops), MS (ts)

SPALTKLANG

Members

Ritsche Koch trumpet
Francesco Zago electric guitar, loops
Markus Stauss tenor, soprano sax
Rémy Sträuli drums
Christian Weber double bass

About the Projects

It was born 2001 when I had the idea to create what in medieval times was called a “broken consort” (the in German word for split sound is SPALTKLANG) – a band composed of wind and pluck instruments and strings including a percussion unit with todays instruments: sax instead of recorder, viola instead of fiddle or viola da gamba, electric bass instead of lute and drum set instead of medieval percussioninstruments. This ensemble is to play music, which, although performed by ÜBERFALL, ULTRIOR LUX and „Stauss-Anliker-Kayser-Vogt“ in concerts, got released on CD as a low-budget trio version only, or even never got recorded.

Already the first sessions kicked off my interest to unfold the “SPALTKLANG” at its best: to incorporate new musical material into the compositions, to alter arrangements and improvisation concepts was the beginning. During the following years I wrote increasingly new compositions written just for this SPALTKLANG quartett. The 4 released CD albums „Alpenglühen“ fm 0818, „Surprise“ fm 0821, „Lontano“ fm 0822 und „en Suite“ fm 0826 with the line up Stauss – Vogt – Brunner – Sträuli document this development.

2010: Talking about a new line-up, many discussions and sessions, a lot of thinking into different directions and tons of material for new compositions leads to this idea:

2011 Spaltklang with an enlarged line-up: a 6 piece outfit (viola or violin, sax, trumpet, el. guitar, double bass, drums). Unfortunatly the size of the group, the musicians’ very different availabilities and therefore very individual schedules, made it impossible to continue the rehearsals on a regular basis.

In summer 2012 I had to take a time out and the band was put on hold.
December 2012: I re-arranges the sextet tunes for a quintet. This lineup now is an international (CH, D, I) project group that will elaborate the set for concerts and CD recordings in a few days following.
September 2013: The CD „in between“ got released on the italian label ALTROCK.

Update by MS November 2017

MP3

Another Dance Tune, Part 1 & 2 (CD “Lontano” 2006), Rémy Sträuli (dr), Stephan Brunner (e b), Olivier Vogt (viola), MS (ts, ss)

en Suite, Part 1 (CD “en Suite” 2009), Rémy Sträuli (dr), Stephan Brunner (e b), Olivier Vogt (viola), MS (ss)

Ural Fragment, Sax Solo (CD “in between” 2013), Richard Koch (tp), Francesco Zago (e g), Christian Weber (b), Rémy Sträuli (dr), MS (ts)

In between, End Part, cutting (CD “in between” 2013), Richard Koch (tp), Francesco Zago (e g), Christian Weber (b), Rémy Sträuli (dr), MS (ss)

4 Elements, Part 4, cutting (CD “in between” 2013), Richard Koch (tp), Francesco Zago (e g), Christian Weber (b), Rémy Sträuli (dr), MS (ts)

BASS-SAX-SOLO

Members

Markus Stauss
Basssaxofon Julius Keilwerth SX 90

About the Projects

Recently still known as the project: BASS-SAX SOLO & DEVICES

Markus Stauss
bass saxophone Julius Keilwerth SX 90
Yamaha WX 11 digital horn
Akai sampler S 612
Korg digital delay SDD 3000


Climb from the depths of the abyss to where birds float, linger and glide back to earth, grooving with full sound.
In this paradise, the electronic extras blend and accompany from anywhere to somewhere, pulsing, roaring, creeping.
Contrasts and surprises, pervading, ecstatic, meditative, insisting.

BUT NOW these „Neolithic“ extras found their way into disposal and they only live on in the memory BUT ALSO on the CD MARKUS STAUSS „Neolithicum“ available in the Online Shop.

And the BASS-SAX will really rise SOLO from the depths of the abyss to where birds float, linger and glide back to earth, grooving with full sound. An also contrasts and surprises will not be missing.

Update by MS November 2017

MP3

Erntedank (CD Neolithicum) Bass Sax Solo

Happiness IV (CD Neolithicum) Improvisation w/ Bass Sax Samples

MARKUS STAUSS’ PROJECTS (MSP)

Spaltklang Untertitel

Members

Joseph Poffet (JOPO): saxes, Hans Anliker: trombone, Jacques Widmer: drums, Pit Kayser: keyboards, Godfather of Noise – David Moss: drums, vocals, Jean Chaine: electric bass, Thomi Hirt: bass, Ellen Christi: vocals, H.Lukas Lindenmaier: percussion, John King: guitar, Günter Müller: drums, electronics, Mani “Guru” Neumeier: drums, Vietn Vito: electric bass, Wener “Sunnymoon” Lüdi: altosax,  Daniel Bourquin: saxes, Leon Francioli: bass, Olivier Clerc: drums, Daniel Stalder: drums, Uli Scherrer: piano, Michel Massot: tuba, trombone, Hahn Rowe: guitar, violin, Han Bennink: drums, Anthony Coleman: keyboards, Ingeborg Poffet: akko, vocals, Michel Delville: guitar, Laurent Delchambre: drums, Samuel Gerstmans: bass, Damien Campon: bass … and many more

About the projects

Again and again I have touched on wild, massive open, risky, curious or simply crazy projects or created these on requests from festivals. Some of these projects have become permanent groups and have presented their music at concerts and/or on LPs/CDs. Other projects have performed live a few times only and occasionally been recorded.
All projects have the peculiarity that the participating musicians represent a wide variety of musical orientations and musical attitudes.

A selection:
1985 – 1988: GeZeitenOrchester, 4 existing bands meet in the grid of a suite, which is controlled by dynamics, density, tempo and some melodic themes.

1985 – 1988: MARKUS STAUSS QUARTETT, free improvised music and minimalistic compositions. LP “Neulich im Studio” (The other Day in the Studio), KNSE 08581 (1985).

1992: NEW DUOS ‘N’ TRIOS, freely improvised music with few composed elements, with the Trio Basel – NY, the Trio NY – Zürich. CD “New Duos ‘n’ Trios” Xopf CD No. 14 (1992).

1993: Compositions for GLASBA, commissioned by the Belluard Festival Fribourg 1993, with Han Bennink, Bratko Bibic, Anthony Coleman, John King, Michel Massot, Hahn Rowe, Uli Scherrer & MS.

1993 / 1997: Compositions and improvisation concepts for XOPF POOL INTERNATIONAL: 5 bands and soloists are merged to form a large orchestra, within each formation / soloist takes on familiar guiding practices and musically deals with each other’s playing attitudes / inputs. Cassette XOPH Records Nr 20.

2005: I meet Michel Delville (guitar) & Laurent Delchambre (drums) from the group „WRONG OBJECT“ in Liège (Belgium). Samuel Gerstmans is bassist at the first rehearsels.

Since 2006 Damien Campion plays bass. We play music from STAUSS-CHAINE-LINDENMAIER, ULTERIOR LUX, ECHOES and new compositions. A demo CD with live recordings (Cryptic Echoes Live in Belgium) will be released at the end of 2006.

From 2007 – 2011 this MSP plays as “TRANK ZAPPA GRAPPA IN VARESE? (TZGIV)” and releases the CDs „More Light“ and „Play Zappa Live in Waremme 08“ (Fazzul Music fm 0824 & 0825).

Update by MS November 2017

MP3

OG, intro (CD “New Duos ‘n’ Trios” 1992), feat. David Moss (vc, perc), Jean Chaine (eb), Ellen Christi (vc), Thomi Hirt (b), Dieter Ulrich (bugle), MS (digital horn)

Down Town, End (CD “New Duos ‘n’ Trios” 1992), feat. David Moss (vc, perc), Jean Chaine (eb), MS (ts)

Perpetuum, End (CD TZGIV “More Light” 2007/8), Michel Deville (e g), Damien Campion (b), Laurent Delchambre (dr), MS (ts)

Another Sad Song, cutting (CD S-A-K-V “Echoes” 1999), Hans Anliker (tb), Pit Kayser (key), Olivier Vogt (vln), MS (bass sax, ss)

MARKUS STAUSS ARTGENOSSEN / COMPANIONS

Mitglieder

Richard Koch Trompete
John King el. Gitarre
Damien Campion el. Bass, Kontrabass
Rémy Sträuli Schlagzeug
Markus Stauss Tenor- & Sopransax, Flöte

Über das Projekt

Unerwartet plötzlich erscheint das Trio VOGEL STAUSS & seine ARTGENOSSEN als Quintett MARKUS STAUSS ARTGENOSSEN / COMPANIONS. Neu dabei sind Damien Campion von TRANK ZAPPA GRAPPA IN VARESE? (TZGIV 2006-2012) und John King, mit welchem ich von 1988-1993 oft spielte. Durch ihn lernte ich Jean Chaine kennen, mit welchem ich 3 ULTERIOR LUX CDs/LP und eine ÜBERFALL LP einspielte. Apropos ÜBERFALL: dank der LP „Neuschnee“ kam der Kontakt mit John zustand. Also von ÜBERFALL zu ULTERIOR LUX zu TZGIV zu VOGEL STAUSS zu STAUSS ARTGENOSSEN. Und die Musik die wir spielen?
Die volle Dröhnung mit unserm Vogel Stauss …“ „punkverseuchter Artrock … unglaublich lebhaft dargestellt … Heavy Punk Jazz Metal” „Die Reibungshitze dabei ist enorm, so dass strahlende Fanfarenstöße und rauer Krawall einem Herz und Hirn grillen. Dabei kocht Stauss nicht nur auf großer Flamme, ‚Bijou‘ ist ein Träumchen für Trompete, Flöte und Kontrabass … ‚Roundtrip‘ wird zum ultimativen Trip, auf dem einem alles zwingend und logisch erscheint.” … lese ich in ersten Reviews zur Doppel CD „Treasures of Light“.

Update von MS November 2017

MP3

ZAUSS

Zauss im Nadelbergstudio nach der Mastering Session von "Diafoia Leitmotiv Waves", Juli 2014

Mitglieder

Francesco Zago el. Gitarre, Loops
Markus Stauss Sopran-, Tenor-, Basssax, Extras

Über das Projekt

FREI IMPROVISIERTE MUSIK

Tradate (VA, Italien), 28. Juli 2006: Francesco Zago und Markus Stauss (NEOLITHICUM DUO) improvisierten frei mit elektrischer Gitarre, Loops und Sopransax. Aus ihrem Neolithicum Duo Set kamen noch 2 Stücke dazu, ausnahmsweise nicht mit dem Bass Sax sondern ebenfalls mit dem Sopransaxophon gespielt. Alles wurde vom Duo mit einem Stereo Mikrophon und einem 2 Spur 24 Bit Flash Recorder selber aufgenommen. Im Ton-Art Studio Basel wurden die Aufnahmen von Benno Hofer bearbeitet und als CD mit dem Titel „neulich neben der Grenze“ unter dem neuen Namen ZAUSS am 14. November 2006 veröffentlicht. Der alte Namen NEOLITHICUM DUO wurde fallen gelassen.

Seither spielt Stauss an Konzerten und auf den weiteren CD Veröffentlichung neben dem Sopransax auch andere Saxophone und Extras.

Im Sommer 2010 tauchte der Wunsch auf, in einer richtigen Studiosituation aufzunehmen. Aus den Aufnahmen im Ton-Art Studio Basel vom 12. & 13. November 2010 entstand die CD „überall in terra straniera borders beyond“, veröffentlicht am 1. Juni 2011.

2. Juni 2012: Zauss nahmen in MS’ Wohnzimmer Improvisationen für die 3. Zauss CD auf. Die CD „notturno leise im Wind“ wurde am 1. Nov. 2012 veröffentlicht.

Am 27. Juli 2013 ergab sich die Gelegenheit zu einer spontanen Session in Tradate (VA), Italien, die ebenso spontan aufgezeichnet wurde. Von Benno Hofer etwas bearbeitet, erschienen die Aufnahmen am 15. Sept. 2014 als 4. Zauss CD „Diafonia Leitmotiv Waves“, ergänzt mit wunderbaren Liner Notes von Claudio Bonomi.


ZAUSS TRIO

Mitglieder (v.l.n.r):
Giuseppe Olivini Perkussion, Theremin
Francesco Zago el. Gitarre, Loops
Markus Stauss Sopran-, Tenor-, Basssax, Flöte

Benno Hofer lud Zauss, mit Giuseppe Olivini (Percussion, Teremin) zum Trio erweitert, nach Alvaneu (GR/CH) zu einer Aufnahmesession am 8. & 9. Februar 2016 ein. Aus einer grossen Anzahl von Improvisationen wurden 16 Stück ausgewählt, im Studio Nadelberg gemischt und als Doppel CD „trittico immer all over“ im März 2017 veröffentlicht.

Update von MS November 2017

MP3

Senza eleganza, end part (CD „neulich neben derGrenze“ 2006), Francesco Zago (e g, loops), MS (ss)

Sulz, cutting (CD „neulich neben derGrenze“ 2006), Francesco Zago (e g, loops), MS (ss)

Little quakes (CD „überall in terra straniera borders beyond“ 2011), Francesco Zago (e g, loops), MS (bass sax)

Wendepunkt (CD „überall in terra straniera borders beyond“ 2011), Francesco Zago (e g, loops), MS (ts)

Make a Zauss Noise here (CD „notturno leise im Wind“ 2012), Francesco Zago (e g), MS (ts)

Tribal Music (CD „notturno leise im Wind“ 2012), Francesco Zago (e g, loops), MS (bass sax)

Adagio molto, cutting (CD „Diafonia Leitmotiv Waves“ 2014), Francesco Zago (e g, loops), MS (ts)

Crescendo con fuoco, end part (CD „Diafonia Leitmotiv Waves“ 2014), Francesco Zago (e g, loops), MS (ts)

SPALTKLANG

Mitglieder

Ritsche Koch Trompete
Francesco Zago el. Gitarre, Loops
Markus Stauss Tenor-, Sopransax
Rémy Sträuli Schlagzeug
Christian Weber Kontrabass

Über das Projekt

SPALTKLANG entstand 2001 aus meiner Idee einen „Broken Consort“ („Spaltklang“ ist der deutsche Ausdruck dafür), ein spätmittelalterliches Instrumentalensemble bestehend aus Blas-, Zupf- und Saiteninstrumenten inklusiv Perkussion, modern zu instrumentieren: Sax statt Blockflöte, Bratsche statt Fidel oder Viola da Gamba, Elektrobass statt Laute und modernes Schlagzeug statt div. Perkussionsinstrumenten. Geplant war Kompositionen zu spielen, welche von ÜBERFALL, ULTERIOR LUX und Stauss–Anliker–Kayser–Vogt an Konzerten aufgeführt wurden, aber nur in einer „low budget” Trioversion oder gar nie auf CD erschienen sind.

Doch schon die erste Session weckte mein Interesse, den „SPALTKLANG“ prägnanter zu entfalten: neues musikalisches Material in die Kompositionen einbeziehen, die Arrangements polytonal erweitern und Improvisationskonzepte verändern, stand am Abfang. Mehr und mehr kamen neue, für SPALTKLANG geschrieben Kompositionen dazu.

Die von 2002 – 2009 veröffentlichten CDs „Alpenglühen“ fm 0818, „Surprise“ fm 0821, „Lontano“ fm 0822 und „en Suite“ fm 0826 in der Besetzung Stauss – Vogt – Brunner – Sträuli dokumentieren diese Entwicklung.

Anfang 2010 zeichnet sich ein Line Up Wechsel ab. Der E-Bassist will anderen musikalische Wege folgen und meine neusten Kompositionen verlangen eine grössere Formation als das bestehende Quartett.

Anfang 2011 habe ich das Quartett zu einem Sextett (Bratsche oder Geige, Sax, Trompete, el. Gitarre, Kontrabass, Schlagzeug) erweitert. Doch die Grösse der Gruppe zusammen mit den unterschiedlichen Pensen der Musiker verunmöglichen einen regelmässigen Probebetrieb. Ich löse im Sommer 2012 das Sextett auf und nehme ein Time Out, um über Ende oder Neuanfang von SPALTKLANG nachzudenken.

Im Dezember 2012 habe ich das Line Up verändert und das 6-tett Programm für ein 5-tett umgeschrieben. Jetzt ist SPALTKLANG eine reine Projektformation, welche das Programm für Konzerte oder CD Aufnahmen an wenigen sich folgenden Probetagen erarbeitet.

September 2013: Die CD „in between“ erscheint auf dem italienischen Label ALTROCK.

Update von MS November 2017

MP3

Another Dance Tune, Part 1 & 2 (CD „Lontano“ 2006), Rémy Sträuli (dr), Stephan Brunner (e b), Olivier Vogt (viola), MS (ts, ss)

en Suite, Part 1 (CD „en Suite“ 2009), Rémy Sträuli (dr), Stephan Brunner (e b), Olivier Vogt (viola), MS (ss)

Ural Fragment, Sax Solo (CD „in between“ 2013), Richard Koch (tp), Francesco Zago (e g), Christian Weber (b), Rémy Sträuli (dr), MS (ts)

In between, End Part, cutting (CD „in between“ 2013), Richard Koch (tp), Francesco Zago (e g), Christian Weber (b), Rémy Sträuli (dr), MS (ss)

4 Elements, Part 4, cutting (CD „in between“ 2013), Richard Koch (tp), Francesco Zago (e g), Christian Weber (b), Rémy Sträuli (dr), MS (ts)

BASS-SAX-SOLO

Mitglieder

Markus Stauss

Basssaxofon Julius Keilwerth SX 90

Über das Projekt

Kürzlich noch hiess das Projekt: BASS-SAX SOLO & EXTRAS

Markus Stauss
Basssaxofon Julius Keilwerth SX 90
Yamaha WX 11 Digitalhorn
Akai Sampler S 612
Korg Digital Delay SDD 3000


Von der Tiefe des Abgrunds hinauf steigen, dorthin wo Vögel schweben, verweilen und zurück zur Erde gleiten, grooven mit vollem Klang.
In dieses Paradies mischen sich die elektronischen Extras und begleiten von überall nach irgendwo, pulsierend, dröhnend, schleichend.
Gegensätze und Überraschungen, bohrend, ekstatisch, medidativ, insistierend.

DOCH NUN haben diese „neolithischen“ Extras den Weg in die Entsorgung gefunden und leben nur noch in der Erinnerung weiter, ABER AUCH auf der CD MARKUS STAUSS „Neolithicum“, erhältlich im Online Shop.

Und das BASS-SAX wird wirklich SOLO von der Tiefe des Abgrunds hinauf steigen, dorthin wo Vögel schweben, verweilen und zurück zur Erde gleiten, grooven mit vollem Klang. Und auch Gegensätze und Überraschungen werden nicht fehlen.

Update von MS November 2017

MP3

Erntedank (CD Neolithicum) Bass Sax Solo

Happiness IV (CD Neolithicum) Improvisation w/ Bass Sax Samples

MARKUS STAUSS’ PROJEKTE (MSP)

Spaltklang Untertitel

Mitglieder

Joseph Poffet (JOPO): Saxophone, Hans Anliker: Posaune, Jacques Widmer: Schlagzeug, Pit Kayser: Keyboards, Godfather of Noise – David Moss: Schlagzeug, vocals, Jean Chaine: Elektrobass, Thomi Hirt: Bass, Ellen Christi: vocals, H. Lukas Lindenmaier: Perkussion, John King: Gitarre, Günter Müller: Schlagzeug, Elektronik, Mani “Guru” Neumeier: Schlagzeug, Vietn Vito: Elektrobass Wener “Sunnymoon” Lüdi: Altosax, Daniel Bourquin: Saxophone, Leon Francioli: Bass, Olivier Clerc: Schlagzeug, Daniel Stalder: Schlagzeug, Uli Scherrer: Klavier, Michel Massot: Tuba, Posaune, Hahn Rowe: Gitarre, Geige, Han Bennink: Schlagzeug, Anthony Coleman: Keyboards, Ingeborg Poffet: Akko, vocals, Michel Delville: Gitarre, Laurent Delchambre: Schlagzeug, Samuel Gerstmans: Bass, Damien Campon: Bass … u.v.m.

Über die Projekte

Immer wieder habe ich wilde, massiv offene, riskante, kuriose oder einfach nur abgefahrene Projekte angerissen oder auf Anfragen von Festivals kreiert. Die einen dieser Projekte sind feste Gruppen geworden und haben an Konzerten und/oder auf CDs/LPs ihre Musik präsentiert. Die anderen Projekte sind wenige Male live aufgeführt und z.T. auf Tonträger festgehalten worden.

Allen Projekten ist eigen, dass die beteiligten Musikerinnen / Musiker unterschiedlichste musikalische Ausrichtungen und Musizierhaltungen repräsentieren.

Eine Auswahl:
1984 – 1985: GeZeitenOrchester: 4 Formationen begegnen sich im Raster einer Suite, die durch Dynamik, Dichte, Tempo und wenig melodischer Thematik gesteuert wird.

1985 – 1988: Markus Stauss Quartett: frei improvisierte Musik und minimalistische Kompositionen. LP “Neulich im Studio” KNSE 08581 (1985)

1992: New Duos ‘n’ Trios, frei improvisierte Musik mit wenigen komponierten Elementen, mit dem Trio Basel – NY (Stauss, Chaine, Moss) und dem Trio NY – Zürich (Christi, Hirt, Ulrich). CD “New Duos ‘n’ Trios” Xopf CD Nr. 14 (1992)

1993: Kompositionen für GLASBA, ein Auftrag für das Belluard Festival Fribourg 1993, mit Han Bennink, Bratko Bibic, Anthony Coleman, John King, Michel Massot, Hahn Rowe, Uli Scherrer & MS

1993 / 1997: Kompositionen und Improvisationskonzepte für XOPF POOL INTERNATIONAL: 5 Bands und Solistinnen werden zu einem grossen Orchester verschmolzen, innerhalb welchem jede Formation / Solistin ihm/ihr/ihnen geläufige Steuerungsfunktionen übernimmt und sich musizierend mit den jeweils anderen Spielhaltungen / Steuerinputs auseinandersetzt. Kassette XOPH Records Nr. 20.

2005: Ich treffe Michel Delville (Gitarre) & Laurent Delchambre (Schlagzeug) von der Gruppe WRONG OBJECT in Liège (Belgien). Samuel Gerstmans ist Bassist bei den ersten Proben.

Ab 2006 ist Damien Campion der Bassist. Gespielt wird Musik von STAUSS-CHAINE-LINDENMAIER, ULTERIOR LUX, ECHOES sowie neue Kompositionen. Eine Demo CD mit Live Aufnahmen (Cryptic Echoes Live in Belgium) erscheint Ende 2006.

Von 2007 – 2011 spielt dieses MSP mit dem Namen “TRANK ZAPPA GRAPPA IN VARESE? (TZGIV)” und veröffentlicht die CDs “More Light” und “Play Zappa Live in Waremme 08” (Fazzul Music fm 0824 & 0825).

Update von MS November 2017

MP3

OG, intro (CD „New Duos ’n‘ Trios“ 1992), feat. David Moss (vc, perc), Jean Chaine (eb), Ellen Christi (vc), Thomi Hirt (b), Dieter Ulrich (bugle), MS (digital horn)

Down Town, End (CD „New Duos ’n‘ Trios“ 1992), feat. David Moss (vc, perc), Jean Chaine (eb), MS (ts)

Perpetuum, End (CD TZGIV „More Light“ 2007/8), Michel Deville (e g), Damien Campion (b), Laurent Delchambre (dr), MS (ts)

Another Sad Song, cutting (CD S-A-K-V „Echoes“ 1999), Hans Anliker (tb), Pit Kayser (key), Olivier Vogt (vln), MS (bass sax, ss)